DAILY LUV & APPRECIATION

I left ‘home’ (our sailboat) on July 12, 2016 to help my mate deliver (sail) another sailboat from San Diego back up to San Francisco for a friend. The job was supposed to take about two weeks max and be sort of a working vacation for my guy. He got paid for this and it got him out away from his daily grind and on the water sailing.

Unfortunately, there were several mechanical/electrical/engine problems that delayed us many days and we just finally got back to San Fran and our own boat yesterday (8/6/16). During this time I was seldom on the computer and when I was it was to check email and touch base with my BFF in Portugal.

I must say I did NOT miss all the whining, insults, mud-slinging, name calling, and nastiness that the Outlander fandom is in the midst of. Looking on Twitter today – SMH – if anything things seem to have gotten worse and I know I haven’t really seen any of the ‘bad’ stuff.

Here is the deal with me in this ‘war’…..I hate IRL ‘shipping’ – especially when the REAL people have made it very clear in statements they are NOT a couple. I don’t hate the people DOING the shipping – I hate the shipping itself. I don’t know the people involved – I don’t attack them personally. I will always stand against that practice. I’ve done blogs on this specifically if you want to review. Why I Hate RL ‘shipping’ and Serious Line: Fan to Fanatic

There are many in the Outlander Clandom that want to get away from all the crap and fighting and be positive. Mika (@A_Badassunicorn) came up with the idea of #HugsforHeughan today as some ‘fans’ had been vile on his timeline recently. I thought, ‘why not a person each day of the week’……then I thought ‘why not expand it to EVERY day’! Maybe we can find a # that will trend easily and can be used for ALL these tweets/positive energy. #ThankfulFor or #AppreciationTweet or #GivingLuvs

Here is a calendar I just threw together. Feel free to use it, copy it, post it, share it, print it off, add to it, change it or just make your own.  I used people’s birthdates where I knew them (i.e. Cait’s birthday is Oct 4 so her day is the 4th of any given month, etc.). Once I got people in by birthdates, I filled in the blanks with people whose birthdays I didn’t know/couldn’t find and other areas that should be singled out for praise and acknowledgement (IMHO).

Calendar of Luvs and Appreciation

This is by no means an exhaustive listing – I put this together in about 20 minutes. If you really dislike someone on the list or just don’t feel enough to give them time, replace them with someone you think is important/special to you! Add others! HECK! Cut the Outlander stuff down and put in other actors or friends or groups or whatever you think deserve some LUVS!

The idea is to have a visual reminder that someone, somewhere could use and deserves some LUV & APPRECIATION every single day. I personally want to get into a habit of dishing out good, positive vibes and having this visual reminder will help me do that.

We will not all agree on everything about Outlander, it’s actors or any of the people associated with it. We will not all like each other or some of the things we do. We CAN all stay more positive, not make personal attacks and have fun without being snotty. It’s a choice. Choose wisely. (or you know, you’ll wither away to a creepy skeleton and the ceiling will fall in burying what’s left)

2 thoughts on “DAILY LUV & APPRECIATION

  1. 26LettersAK says:

    Thanks Beth for this. I was away visiting family the past week and also got a small porthole into the nastiness and it made me ill to see it. I didn’t engage as it didn’t seem to be of value to fight it by simply responding on such a limited platform as Twitter. I did see some people blocking and reporting, but I don’t follow a bunch of those people and didn’t want to start. I find it difficult to believe after all of time and effort such talented people have put into the show that there are people who can get so vile.

    • rynawolfe says:

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I don’t get that much negativity either – and I don’t think it’s a big number overall – they are just very vocal.

Leave a Reply

